Oklahoma liquor license requirements
Oklahoma liquor licenses are dispensed by the Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement Commission ( ABLE ), located in Oklahoma City. It takes approximately 30 days to receive a liquor license from the Oklahoma ABLE Commission once the application form is filled out and approved.
There are a few samara steps in the application process to keep in mind if you are a licensee :
- Filling out the general application immigration affidavit
- Paying the appropriate fees
- Submitting your application to ABLE with a Certificate of Compliance
- Information regarding obtaining this certificate can be found here
The localization of your business is important when it comes to obtaining an alcoholic beverage license. Why is that ? There are a pair of good reasons :
- The state will only approve a new license for a business operating from a completely constructed building or a building within 60 days of completion of construction
- Your city or county must issue a Certificate of Compliance that states zoning, fire, health, and safety information of compliance. As a result, your location will be publicly listed
- A lease agreement is required, but only if a management agreement, deed, or sales contract cannot be provided
Sales Tax Permit
A Sales Tax permit from the Oklahoma Tax Commission is besides required. A shuffle Beverage Tax Permit may be required if you plan to sell shuffle beverages. If you are in a city like Tulsa, you will need a County Beverage Permit in accession to a Sales Tax and Mixed Beverage Permit. Be certain to contact your city for more information on this .
Depending on the type of business, you may need to provide extra software documentation. Say you are an incorporate brewer—you would need to provide a Certificate of Good Standing from the Oklahoma Secretary of State, a Certificate of Incorporation, and a copy of a Basic Federal Permit from the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax Bureau ( TTB ). There is no cost to apply for or obtain blessing from the TBB to run your business at the federal level. beginning, you will need to determine your let type and business type using the leave descriptions on the site. then, visit Permits Online to complete and submit your application .
Keep in mind ; if you are serving food on premises in accession to alcohol, you will need a food service license. A Food Establishment Inspection will be conducted as a contribution of the license summons.
You can obtain an Oklahoma food service license here .
Types of Oklahoma liquor licenses
There are several types of liquor licenses in the State of Oklahoma. You will need to determine whether you want to serve beer, wine, spirits, or all 3. The 7 independent types of liquor licenses are as follows :
- Employee license: According to Oklahoma Statute Title 37A from the Oklahoma Alcoholic Beverage Control Act, an employee license is required for any employee selling or serving alcoholic beverages in any place where such beverages are sold, mixed, or served. It is typically required before server training takes place, and you must be 18 years of age to obtain an ABLE employee license for selling and serving beer and wine. It is important to note that you must be 21 to sell and serve in package stores and mixed beverage establishments.
- Airline and railroad: If your business operates an airliner, railroad, or commercial passenger vessel, you are required to hold a liquor license in the State of Oklahoma (if this is the state in which you operate the business). If you cross into another state’s territory, you are subject to the state laws of that territory.
- Bottle club: A bottle club is any club that serves patrons who previously purchased or reserved alcoholic beverages after legal closing hours. Fraternal organizations are one example of a bottle club.
- Low-Point Beer License: If you plan to serve low-point beer on or off-premises, you will need a Low Point Beer License. Any beverage containing more than ½ of 1% alcohol by volume and not more than 3.2% alcohol by weight is considered low-point.
- Distributor: The distributor liquor license is dependent on what you are distributing beer, wine, spirits, or all the above. If you are a beer distributor, you will need to provide a Certificate of Liability Insurance, Certificate of Compliance, and a Tax Statement from your county treasurer.
- Wholesaler: There are two types of wholesaler applications: Class B Wholesaler and Wine and Spirits Wholesaler. A Class B Wholesaler is any individual or partnership licensed to sell beer or brewed products to a retail store, caterer, or event.
- Retail: If you are a retailer such as a convenience store or grocery store and wish to sell alcohol, you will need to apply for a retail beer and wine license. Since most grocery store chains are incorporated, you will also be required to provide a Certificate of Incorporation.
- Events: A special event license is valid for 1 year from the date of issuance, and each event can last up to 10 days. There are two types of licenses for both public events and private events: a quarterly special events license and an annual special events license.
- Manufacturer: A manufacturer liquor license is required for winemakers, brewers, and distillers. In addition to the Certificate of Liability Insurance and Basic Federal Permit, a Certificate of Authority, Oklahoma Price Posting, and Price Posting Affidavit for non-designated products are required.
Can I get a one-day liquor license in Oklahoma?
As mentioned earlier, If you are hosting an event, you can get a particular events license. However, there is no one-day-only liquor license available in Oklahoma. Licenses are either quarterly or annual. It is important to keep in mind that a quarterly particular events license authorizes up to 3 events, and an annual license authorizes 4 events. however, more than 2 events in 3 months are not authorized. here are the circumstances in which a particular events license is required :
- The event is open to the public, and alcohol sales are made.
- There is a cash bar at the event.
- There is a cover charge or donation required to attend the event, and alcohol is provided.
How much does an Oklahoma liquor license cost?
License lotion fees vary depending on the type of business and represent license. You can find a full moon tilt of fees here, but they generally run between $ 50 and $ 6,000 for first-time applicants.
For case, say you are opening a restaurant but are merely selling beer and wine—your annually license tip would be $ 525. If you were to hold a series of special events, that tip would be $ 55. If you wish to continue selling alcohol, there are renewal fees to keep your license in station. These fees depend on the type of license you have been issued. therefore, for that lapp restaurant selling only beer and wine, the reclamation fee would be $ 475. Should you need to obtain liquor liability insurance and small business insurance before applying for a license, we’ve got you covered! Get an insurance policy from Huckleberry in minutes.